Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’d like to use this first blog post to welcome the LSU Manship School of Mass Communication students to PR Campaigns. PR Campaigns is a service-learning course.

Service-learning courses are “credit-bearing educational experience(s) in which students (a) participate in an organized service activity that meets identified community needs and (b) reflect on the service activity in such a way as to gain further understanding of course content, a broader appreciation of the discipline, and an enhanced sense of civic responsibility” (from Bringle & Hatcher, 1995).

I’ll be the first to admit that I am an idealist. I seek perfection; I have high expectations (and am always disappointed when they are not met); I am a dreamer. I wake up every day imagining a perfect “utopian” world and try to figure out how I can help make it that way. Perhaps that’s why I like PR and service-learning so much. I see such promise in the tenants of PR: advocacy, honesty, expertise, independence, loyalty and fairness. Furthermore, I get immensely excited about the ability of my students to touch lives, change things for the better and respond to the needs of the community.

The service-learning goals of my course are as follows:

  • To foster an understanding of social issues in our community.
  • To foster an understanding of civic responsibility.
  • To demonstrate an understanding of social issues through reflective essays, class discussion, and 
presentation.
  • To demonstrate an understanding of civic responsibility through reflective essays, class discussion, 
and presentation.

This semester the PR Campaigns students will be working with the following non-profit community organizations:

I am sooooooo excited to see what this amazing class of senior PR students can accomplish for these wonderful organizations. In the meantime, I am going to try to instill in them the same idealist visions I have. Wish us well!

